The Florence G. Heller Professional Award

The Board of Directors of JCC Association established the Florence G. Heller Professional Award on January 21, 1968, to honor the memory of its president and beloved leader, Mrs. Florence G. Heller. This award is presented at each JCC Association Biennial Convention to a JCC professional.

2014 Recipient of the Florence G. Heller Award

alan_mannThis year’s recipient, Alan Mark Mann, is a native of Brooklyn, New York, and a graduate of Queens College and Yeshiva University’s Wurzweiler School of Social Work. Mann began his career at the Midtown YM-YWHA and the JCC of Atlantic City. Moving to Boston in 1976, he was the executive director of the South Area JCC, then in 1980 becoming the associate executive director of JCCs of Greater Boston until 1993, when he took on the role of executive vice-president of the agency until 2000. Alan was the key JCC professional involved in developing the new Jewish Community Campus in Newton, Massachusetts and became the first executive director of the Leventhal-Sidman JCC in Newton Centre.

A recipient of a scholarship from JCC Association (known at the time as the Jewish Welfare Board), Mann also participated in the executive leadership training the agency offered. He joined the JCC Association staff in 2000 as executive vice-president of community services. “Alan Mann played the major role in transforming the way that JCC Association delivers service to JCCs by bringing in a group of seasoned JCC executives to work with him,” said Allan Finkelstein, president and CEO of JCC Association. “His deep knowledge and dedication to the JCC Movement informed everything he did.”


  1. The recipient’s contribution shall stem directly from a professional career in agencies or programs directly related to JCC Association.
  2. The award shall recognize contributions that enrich the totality and breadth of professional practice and knowledge.
  3. Current members of the JCC Association staff shall not be eligible for the award.
  4. Only one award shall be made in connection with each JCC Association Biennial Convention.
  5. The award shall not be given posthumously.

The Nomination

A select committee, chaired by JCC Association board member Ronald L. Leibow, chooses the Florence G. Heller Award recipient. We invite nominations for the award from the JCC field.

Nominations for the Florence G. Heller Awards are now closed.

Past Winners

For distinguished professional service within JCC Association’s fields of work.

1968 Miriam R. Ephraim
1970 Irving Brodsky
1972 Sanford Solender
1974 Emanuel Berlatsky
1976 Louis Smith
1978 Herbert Millman
1980 William Kahn
1982 Abe Vinik
1984 William Grossman
1986 Murry Shapiro
1988 William Budd
1990 Bernard T. Rosen
1992 Samuel I. Sorin
1994 Bessie Pine
1996 Art Rotman
1998 Jack Boeko
2000 Burt Garr
2002 Zev Hymowitz
2004 Jerry Wische
2006 Lewis Stolzenberg
2008 Avrum Cohen
2008 Solomon Greenfield
2010 Arlene Barron
2012 Louis (Buddy) Sapolsky