The Frank L. Weil Awards

JCC Association established the Frank L. Weil Awards in 1950 in the name of our leader who served with brilliant distinction as president of JWB from 1940 to 1950. These biennial awards recognize distinguished contributions to the three areas of JCC Association’s work: the Jewish Community Center field, the armed services field, and the advancement of North American Jewish education and culture.

Award Procedure

We seek recommendations for awards on the local, regional and continental levels. Criteria for the selection of nominees for the awards are presented below. A jury, chaired by Ronald L. Leibow, JCC Association board member and past Weil Award winner, will consider all recommendations.


Distinguished Contribution to the Jewish Community Center Field

  1. The person’s record of outstanding service in the Jewish Community Center field.
  2. The quality and character of the person’s leadership in the Jewish Community Center field.

Distinguished Contribution to the Armed Services Field

  1. The person’s record of outstanding service in promoting the welfare of Jewish men and women in the Armed Forces and Veterans Hospitals of the United States.
  2. The quality and character of the person’s leadership in the armed services field.

Advancement of North American Jewish Culture

  1. The person’s record of outstanding service in promoting Jewish culture.
  2. The quality and character of the person’s leadership in their field.

The Nomination

A select committee chooses the Frank L. Weil Award recipients. We invite nominations for the award from the JCC field.

Nominations should be submitted between September 1 and December 13, 2015, using the online form below:

Powered by Typeform

Deadline for nominations is November 15, 2015
Questions about the Frank L. Weil Awards should be addressed to:
Wendy Seligson
tel: (212) 786-5082

Past Winners of the Frank L. Weil Awards

For Distinguished Contribution to the Jewish Community Center Field

1951 Louis Kraft, New York, NY
1952 Gertrude Glogower, Detroit, MI
1953 Florence G. Heller, Chicago, IL
1954 Joseph Goldstein, Rochester, NY
1955 Michael A. Stavitsky, Newark, NJ
1956 Jack Nadel, New York, NY
1957 Louis Stern, Newark, NY
1958 Cecile Sands, New York, NY
1959 Irving Edison, St. Louis, MO
1960 Helen Dalsheimer, Baltimore, MD
1961 Charles Aaron, Chicago, IL
1962 Graenum Berger, New York, NY
1964 Arthur S. Kling, Louisville, NY
1966 Alan J. Altheimer, Chicago, IL
1968 Solomon Litt, New York, NY
1970 Joseph Kruger, South Orange, NJ
1972 Leon Kaplan, Miami, FL
1974 Morton L. Mandel, Cleveland, OH
1976 Isadore E. Millstone, St. Louis, MO
1978 Esther Leah Ritz, Milwaukee, WI
1980 Jesse Feldman, San Francisco, CA
1982 Minnie Nathanson, New York, NY
1984 Leonard Kaplan, Boston, MA
1986 Daniel Rose, New York, NY
1988 Gerald Ostrow, Pittsburgh, PA
1990 Ambassador Leonard Rochwarger, Buffalo, NY
1992 Leonard Rubin, Tenafly, NJ
1994 Harriet Rosenthal, Metro-West, NJ
1996 John M. Wolf, Sr., Pittsburgh, PA
1998 Lester Pollack, New York, NY
2000 Ann P. Kaufman, Houston, TX
2002 Philip M. Shiekman, Philadelphia, PA
2004 Jerome B. Makowsky, Memphis, TN
2006 Ronald L. Leibow, Los Angeles, CA
2008 Edward H. Kaplan, Potomac, MD
2010 Stephen Reiner, New York, NY
2012 Alan P. Solow, Chicago, IL
2014 J. Victor Samuels, Houston, TX

For Distinguished Contribution to the Armed Services Field

1951 Milton Weill, New York, NY
1952 Alice Bachrach, Louisville, KY
1953 Charles W. Morris, Louisville, KY
1954 Col. Jesse C. Colman, San Francisco, CA
1955 Dr. David de Sola Pool, New York, NY
1956 Joseph F. Barr, Washington, DC
1957 Rabbi Joseph H. Lookstein, NY, NY
1958 Chaplain Joshua L. Goldberg, New York, NY
Col. Harry D. Henshell, New York, NY
1959 Rabbi Nathan Witkin, Balboa, Panama Canal Zone
1960 Elinor Bernheim, New York, NY
1961 Rabbi Max D. Davidson, Perth Amboy, NJ
1962 Rabbi Morris Leiberman, Baltimore, MD
1964 Walter D. Heller, San Francisco, CA
1966 Adele Ginzberg, New York, NY
1968 Evelyn & Daniel L. Stone, New York, NY
1970 Benjamin Sternberg, Frankfurt, Germany
1972 Rabbi Israel Miller, New York, NY
1974 Jane Evans, New York, NY
1976 Jacob Goodstein, Metropolitan NJ
1978 Rabbi Emanuel Rackman, Ramat Gan, Israel
1980 Jean Bloustein, New York, NY
1982 N. Brewster Broder, Detroit, MI
1984 Robert L. Adler, Chicago, IL
1986 Rabbi Judah Nadich, New York, NY
1988 Rabbi Herschel Schacter, New York, NY
1990 Norma Ackerman, Long Island, NY
1992 Rabbi Barry H. Greene, Short Hills, NJ
1994 Rabbi Aaron Landes, Elkins Park, PA
1996 Marvin Pertzik, St. Paul, MN
1998 Rabbi Abraham Avrech, Miami, FL
2000 Jack Shaffer, Denver, CO
2002 Ronald L. Leibow, Los Angeles, CA
2008 Rabbi Phillip Silverstein, Columbia, SC
2012 Noreen Gordon Sablotsky, Miami, FL
2014 Senator Carl M. Levin, Detroit, MI

For Distinguished Contribution to the Advancement of Jewish Culture in North America

1951 Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan, New York, NY
1952 Maurice Samuel, New York, NY
1953 Dr. Oscar I. Janowsky, New York, NY
1954 Dr. Salo W. Baron, New York, NY
1955 Dr. Jacob R. Marcus, Cincinnati, OH
1956 Ernest Bloch, Agate Beach, OR
1957 Dr. Solomon Grayzel, Philadelphia, PA
1958 Dr. Horace M. Kallen, New York, NY
1959 Dr. Harry M. Orlinsky, New York, NY
1960 Dr. A. W. Binder, New York, NY
Halpern Leivick, New York, NY
1961 Dr. Harry A. Wolfson, Cambridge, MA
1962 Prof. Abraham J. Heschel, New York, NY
1964 Dr. Abraham L. Sachar, Waltham, MA
1966 Leonard Bernstein, New York, NY
1968 Lazar Weiner, New York, NY
1970 Rabbi A. Alan Steinbach, Hollywood, FL
1972 Jacques Lipschitz, New York, NY
1974 Dr. William Kolodney, New York, NY
1976 Dore Schary, New York, NY
1978 Saidye Rosner Bronfman, O.B.E., Montreal, Quebec
1980 Janet Lowenstein, Metro NJ
1982 Chaim Gross, New York, NY
1984 Isaac Bashevis Singer, New York, NY
1986 Theodore Bikel, New York, NY
1988 Chaim Potok, Philadelphia, PA
1990 Elie Wiesel, New York, NY
1992 Omus Hirshbein, New York, NY